Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/9/2017 11:00:00 PM EDT
Not 100% sure this is the right forum for this but it seems to be the most fitting. If not, moderators please delete with my apologies.

Anyways, I'm looking to see if there are any Flight RNs/Paramedics on ARFCOM.

I've wanted to fly ever since I finished my degree 7 years ago and began working on the inpatient, critical care (ICU, ED) side of things. I had previous "jolly volly" firefighting experience and always felt strongly about getting back into the pre-hospital/transport side of things once I became trapped in a windowless hospital all day.

Finally landed a job flying and I will be starting in a month.

What tips do you have for "the new guy?"
Link Posted: 5/9/2017 11:13:42 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 5/9/2017 11:27:15 PM EDT
[#2]
I have my CCRN. They are going to put on a CFRN review course this summer locally so I intend on taking that prior to the exam. I'm really looking forward to the challenge.

What do your friends say about their jobs?

Everyone at the base I will be joining seems to thoroughly enjoy it. I'm excited to get started.

Thanks for taking the time to post!
Link Posted: 5/10/2017 12:13:56 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 5/10/2017 7:37:06 AM EDT
[#4]
That's great to hear. I'm going to get my feet wet first and then I will see how I feel about staying PRN in the ED or picking up any side gigs.

Yes, they are CAMTS certified. I don't know much about that besides that it's a voluntary accreditation process. I can only assume it helps keep your program on its game and helps prove your safety and competency.

Where abouts in Utah are you? I love southern Utah.
Link Posted: 5/10/2017 10:42:03 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 5/11/2017 11:46:28 AM EDT
[#6]
Congrats!  I've known several who have flown and all loved it.  Most everything around me is full time only now, hope to get a PRN or part time gig sometime down the road.