Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/26/2017 9:07:33 PM EDT
Hello fellow LEOs. I am a new police officer (2 1/2 years of service). I am hoping some of you can give me advice on providing court testimony. First, it makes me nervous as hell. I am always truthful of course and I testify to what is on my police report, but that doesn't seem to help with the overwhelming anxiety I feel during cross examination. I always feel like the defense attorney is asking me a question to use against me later, which they probably are. I have only testified a total of 3 times so far, our prosecutor's office likes to plea bargain many cases, this is probably why I have not had the opportunity to be on the stand very often. Can any of you relate to my situation? If so, how did you get past it? Any advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.
Link Posted: 4/26/2017 9:43:27 PM EDT
[#1]
Rule No. 1: Tell the absolute truth.
Rule No. 2: Don't be a smart ass on cross-examination. Don't be "cute" with your answers to defense counsel.
Rule No. 3: If you don't know that answer to a question, say so.
Rule No. 4: Be professional. Use language the jury can understand. Don't use cop lingo.

I'll think  of some more rules later on.
Link Posted: 4/26/2017 10:12:48 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Rule No. 2: Don't be a smart ass on cross-examination. Don't be "cute" with your answers to defense counsel.
Rule No. 4: Be professional. Use language the jury can understand. Don't use cop lingo.

View Quote