Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/25/2015 2:09:35 PM EDT
What is your opinion regarding C.O.'s.......would you consider them LEO's or not? If not, why?
Link Posted: 10/25/2015 3:25:00 PM EDT
[#1]
I used to be a CO, and now I am a police officer. Corrections officers job is to enforce the law, by supervising inmates who broke it.

So by enforcing the law, they are by definition "law enforcement"
Link Posted: 10/25/2015 3:59:25 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I used to be a CO, and now I am a police officer. Corrections officers job is to enforce the law, by supervising inmates who broke it.

View Quote

That was the same way I thought of it, however here in Florida, the Florida Highway Patrol and various other agencies don't view us in the same way.
Link Posted: 10/25/2015 4:06:08 PM EDT
[#3]
Stay in Corrections long enough and you'll supervise some of those same LE types.

Stay safe
Link Posted: 10/26/2015 2:30:22 AM EDT
[#4]
Tn corrections officers learned a few things this year.

Per federal law corrections officers are law enforcement.

Per patriot act, law enforcement and some other folks like fire and ems can be made to work 170 hours before time and a half kicks in.

That 170 is over a 28 day pay period, so 4 weeks.

Used to be tn corrections officers worked 5 on and 2 off and at 8 hours a block unless drafted to next shift to cover posts.

Now it is 6 on and 3 off and 8.5 hours with the half hour being a shift briefing.

Previously the 28 day period would have had time and a half kicking in after 160 hours.

So there is a 10 block of time that is still paid at straight time.

In general there will be the same number of off days between 5 and 2 or 6 and 3.  It does depend on how some things fall but it works out over several months.

Now here in tn corrections officers are not post certified.

Police officers are post certified.