Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/17/2017 6:08:27 PM EDT
Im new to buying online and was wondering if the background process if started after the shipper swaps info with my FFL or does it not atart until after it arrives to the place I have it shipped to?

Basically, do I have to wait an additional 5 days after shipping or was the background pricess already started? Thanks
Link Posted: 1/17/2017 6:23:22 PM EDT
[#1]
Varies by state, but I would not expect any head start in the process. I suspect the 5 days is from when the FFL has physical posession and starts your paper work.

Nice and legal, Agent.
Link Posted: 1/17/2017 6:55:12 PM EDT
[#2]
Damnit, was hoping I would t have to wait that long

Thanks for the answer
Link Posted: 1/17/2017 7:10:53 PM EDT
[#3]
Until the FFL has the firearm in question in hand and logs it into his book I wouldn't think he has any possible way to start the process . I would believe you would need to also be there in person as you have to personally do the paperwork.

In reality one doesn't buy a firearm on line . You might pay for it and shipping but ownership goes from the seller to the FFL and doesn't transfer to you untill you satisfy
any federal,state and local requirements/paperwork.

Not even sure who owns it while it is in transfer to the FFL as he wouldn't own it until it goes into his book and I don't think that would happen untill he has it in his hand
Link Posted: 1/17/2017 7:32:59 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Until the FFL has the firearm in question in hand and logs it into his book I wouldn't think he has any possible way to start the process . I would believe you would need to also be there in person as you have to personally do the paperwork.