Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/14/2001 10:53:46 PM EDT
do handheld 2 meter transceivers perform the same function as a radio scanner up to 1000mhz?  i'm a newbie to radios and want to learn more.
Link Posted: 10/14/2001 11:18:34 PM EDT
[#1]
Some, but not many have full range receive capability. I know kenwood just came out with a new tri-band unit that recieves up to 1.3Ghz.

Link Posted: 10/14/2001 11:32:00 PM EDT
[#2]
Any late-model radio sold in the U.S. is going to have the cell-phone frequencies blocked.

The one I saw on sale at Rat Shack for $99 will receive 136-174 MHz only.

Also, the frequency scan function is not the same as newer scanners.  With the HT, you more than likely have just 1 bank of 30 frequencies, while with the newer "trunking" scanners you can have multiple separate banks of 20-30 frequencies each in at least VHF low & high bands, plus UHF.  You could have one bank programmed for your local public safety trunking system, a second bank for strictly untrunked state frequencies, a third for an assortment of tow-tuck and taxi drivers, etc.

I would not buy a ham radio unless you have a license, which is something I'm working on myself right now.  It has gotten a lot easier in the last several years,
Link Posted: 10/15/2001 4:16:43 AM EDT
[#3]
Study, get our license, when you pass, reward yourself with a radio.
Don't buy the radio without getting a license.
Link Posted: 10/15/2001 4:24:42 AM EDT
[#4]