Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/22/2017 10:43:46 PM EDT
I have about a 1200 sq. ft. slab that needs pouring.  Slab will be about 4"-6" thick.  Will carry 15-20 tons on it at all times.  Weight is localized in certain spots rather than spread out.

GC says glass reinforced concrete is more than adequate.  I was under the impression that it needs rebar or wire mesh. 
Link Posted: 6/22/2017 10:53:08 PM EDT
[#1]
any concrete should have rebar in it. no matter what load. especially when there is a load. 

Oh im no concrete expert but ive poured enough to know rebar is a must.
Link Posted: 6/22/2017 10:57:58 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
any concrete should have rebar in it. no matter what load. especially when there is a load. 

Oh im no concrete expert but ive poured enough to know rebar is a must.
View Quote
I'm no expert either but I always thought you needed some reinforcement...Whether it's steel mesh or rebar.  Especially when we're talking about load carrying capacity.

This is the first I've heard about glass reinforced crete.
Link Posted: 6/22/2017 10:58:16 PM EDT
[#3]
Rebar and wire mesh. Make sure the rebar and mesh aren't just laid in the bottom. They need to be raised into the slab to do any good.
Link Posted: 6/22/2017 11:01:26 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Rebar and wire mesh. Make sure the rebar and mesh aren't just laid in the bottom. They need to be raised into the slab to do any good.
View Quote
Can't just have one or the other? Gotta have both now?
Link Posted: 6/22/2017 11:10:18 PM EDT
[#5]
I had the joy of spending $30,000.00 watching glass reinforced cement get ripped up off of wire mesh that was laying on dirt and then new cement put down at 6 inches with mesh raised to the middle. Don't turn your back on the cement guys...pay attention to what you are getting.
Link Posted: 6/22/2017 11:16:41 PM EDT
[#6]