Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/5/2016 4:03:47 PM EDT
I've got no experience with welding but I'd like to get started learning.  I figure for $100 this might be something to start out with.  No particular task in min but maybe in the future some exhaust work on my car or some other little stuff.  From all the reviews and all the vids I've seen on it, it's clearly not meant to connect I-Beams together or do anything heavy with.  But for lighter work...seems adequate.  

The next step up seems to be 3-4 times the price.  So while HF isn't known for quality, seems like it'd fill a niche for beginners.  

What's your experience been with it?

Thanks

-Emt1581
Link Posted: 6/5/2016 4:07:16 PM EDT
[#1]
If you go to youtube.com and type in Harbor freight welder you can get some ideas..
Link Posted: 6/5/2016 4:08:17 PM EDT
[#2]
It WILL frustrate you.

No power, unstable dirty arc quality, low duty cycle, it sucks.

But if you put in the time and learn to use it, using a good quality miller, lincoln, esab or a ck systematics will feel like your life was touched by the almighty himself.
Link Posted: 6/5/2016 4:09:55 PM EDT
[#3]
As far as welders go, it's a piece of shit, and makes horrible welds.  

That being said, it does work, and is effective enough for fucking around in the garage.  And it's not a bad value for the price.  And doesn't require 240V, or gas.

It'll be fine for what you want to do.

Oh, and in before everyone else comes along and says unless you spend $5,000 on welding gear you're a failure at life.
Link Posted: 6/5/2016 4:11:58 PM EDT
[#4]
If you Google "Harbor Freight Welder mods" you should find some sights that show how to add caps and such to make it a little better (not sure which models you can do it with).
Link Posted: 6/5/2016 4:12:09 PM EDT
[#5]
Just get a cheap Miller or Lincoln for way too many reasons to get into.