Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 2/22/2016 9:03:11 PM EDT
The NRA just released their blended learning course, requiring students to complete a portion of the course online instead of hands on with an instructor. In addition they charge the student $60 directly, while the instructor is still on the hook for the same amount of money for materials, range time, advertising, and travel. My state requires people to take the basic pistol course in order to get their Carry Permit. This just adds to the nickel and diming for people to exercise their right, by an organization (of which I am a member and instructor) whose first mission should be spreading the good word.

Some comments from another forum that I found said it well:

NRA just took approximately 50% ($60) of potential income from NRA instructors; yet the instructors still have to spend 100% marketing and out of pocket costs (renting the range and classroom, syllabus…etc) to find students for the remaining 50% income. It would be a different story if NRA would send us students (free leads) that have completed Phase I of the course.

First, the decision was made to move from entirely instructor-led to a hybrid format with little to no input from the instructors. Then, the rate structure was not communicated to the instructor cadre well in advance of rolling the program out. They have also done a poor job dealing with the actual switchover by running out of the old course materials that could be ordered well in advance of actually being live with the hybrid classes, and not allowing the instructors to see the new online portion of the class well in advance of it going live.