Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/1/2015 8:32:17 AM EDT

I have been reloading for about 4 months now and have shot over 1K rds. of each .223 and 9mm. So far I have only had 5 failures with my .223 which were all caused by bad primers all on the same day. I have also had 3 FTF with 9mm. I carefully inspect my brass and use the recommended starting powder charge.

My reloads seem to be as or more reliable than factory ammo but I read that a lot of training schools either ban or discourage the use of reloaded ammo. Why?

BTW, loads that I have been using.

.223: CCI 400 primers, 23.5 gr. of H335 powder and Berry's 55gr. fmj, COAL of 2.200

9mm: Federal small pistol primers, 4.5 gr. of WSF Ball powder and Berry's plated 115gr. 9mm, COAL of 1.169

Link Posted: 8/1/2015 8:37:12 AM EDT
[#1]
Im sure there are ALOT of reasons, squib loads is probably high on that list.
Link Posted: 8/1/2015 8:37:54 AM EDT
[#2]

Probably due to failures.
Link Posted: 8/1/2015 8:40:13 AM EDT
[#3]
Clearing your malfunctioning firearm takes time away from training.

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
Link Posted: 8/1/2015 8:41:25 AM EDT
[#4]
Because most handloaders tend to be lazy.  Their shit loads usually cause a lot of stoppages and failures while everyone else keeps on training.

If an instructor has to stop for "Special Snow Flakes" everyone else may have to wait on themn as well.
Link Posted: 8/1/2015 8:46:22 AM EDT
[#5]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Because most handloaders tend to be lazy.  Their shit loads usually cause a lot of stoppages and failures while everyone else keeps on training.

If an instructor has to stop for "Special Snow Flakes" everyone else may have to wait on themn as well.
View Quote

To supplement this point, "train like you fight".

Are you going to use potentially unreliable ammo for self defense situations?  Probably not.