Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/2/2015 12:14:38 AM EDT
http://www.cnet.com/news/amazon-updates-customer-reviews-with-new-machine-learning-platform/

As an author I find this interesting.  Basically, what it means to me is that people who bought my books on Amazon will mean more to my review ratings than those who bought them elsewhere, plus more recent reviews will count more, as will reviews more people found helpful.  So, if you're trying to help out an author you know (like some of the guys here, or Larry Correia, or John Ringo) you shouldn't just leave a good review for his books, you should go through the reviews and label the good ones as helpful and the bad ones as not.
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 12:18:11 AM EDT
[#1]
I like that.
I have always thought verified purchases should have their reviews weighted higher anyway.
it will cut down on the fanbois of another book/product from bringing down another item.
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 12:25:58 AM EDT
[#2]
I dislike it.  I don't want Amazon choosing for me which reviews to display.  I want the most recent reviews, period.  

I like how they put a "This customer is a verified purchaser" or something like that when they purchased from Amazon.
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 12:28:04 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I dislike it.  I don't want Amazon choosing for me which reviews to display.  I want the most recent reviews, period.  

I like how they put a "This customer is a verified purchaser" or something like that when they purchased from Amazon.
View Quote

The problem with the current method is the paid shills that leave reviews. This will help that. Plus, idiots that review the SELLER instead of the PRODUCT will get down voted and count for less.

Good move IMO
Link Posted: 7/2/2015 12:29:29 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

View Quote