Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/1/2015 3:23:08 PM EDT
I'm a senior in high school this year and I am greatly interested in taking some AP Exams to test out of some lower level college courses... For those that have taken them in the past, what are your experiences with them?  Which ones are best for self-studying?  Which ones did you find easiest?  Any information is greatly appreciated!
Link Posted: 3/1/2015 3:27:00 PM EDT
[#1]

View Quote
Take whatever ones you think you can pass.  I took the AP Physics and AP Environmental science tests even though my HS did not offer those courses.  I learned both those subjects by self study not in preparation for the exams but because I was interested in them.

Link Posted: 3/1/2015 3:36:00 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm an AP English teacher.  Take 40 minutes and write a response to the following prompt - no spellcheck or assistance, and keep to the timeframe; I'll give you an accurate score and tell you whether or not you should take the AP English Language and Composition exam.  (On the actual test you'd need to write three essays in two hours.)

For centuries, prominent thinkers have pondered the relationship between ownership and the development of self
(identity), ultimately asking the question, “What does it mean to own something?”

Plato argues that owning objects is detrimental to a person’s character. Aristotle claims that ownership of tangible
goods helps to develop moral character. Twentieth-century philosopher Jean-Paul Sartre proposes that ownership
extends beyond objects to include intangible things as well. In Sartre’s view, becoming proficient in some skill and
knowing something thoroughly means that we “own” it.

Think about the differing views of ownership. Then write an essay in which you explain your position on the
relationship between ownership and sense of self. Use appropriate evidence from your reading, experience, or