Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel

Log In

A valid email is required.
Password is required.
Site Notices
Roadside Tax Collector
Avatar
Bronze
  • Joined Sep 2006
  • Posts 6704
  • Location USA MS, USA
Online Positive Feedback
Bronze
  • Joined Sep 2006
  • Posts 6704
  • Location USA MS, USA
Online Positive Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 1:50:37 PM EST
I currently have AT&T DSL internet, and I'm sick of the spotty service and horrible customer service. Since I already have Dish for TV, I was thinking about adding their internet. Anyone have it, and do you like it?

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
fla556guy: "When you have a shit-hole the answer is to flush it as fast as possible, not bathe in the shit."
Mak
Member
Avatar
Bronze
  • Joined Jan 2002
  • Posts 19303
  • Location USA MI, USA
Offline Positive Feedback
Bronze
  • Joined Jan 2002
  • Posts 19303
  • Location USA MI, USA
Offline Positive Feedback
NRAMilitary
Posted: 4/28/2013 2:00:13 PM EST
[Last Edit: 4/28/2013 2:03:06 PM EST by Mak]
Originally Posted By ARJJ:
I currently have AT&T DSL internet, and I'm sick of the spotty service and horrible customer service. Since I already have Dish for TV, I was thinking about adding their internet. Anyone have it, and do you like it?

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile


Aren't they just a reseller for Viasat Exede/Wildblue? I have Exede because at my current house I can get nothing else. If you can get cable go with that, I had cable for 10 years.

Satellite internet is only for those that can get nothing else. It works well when it works but you get DAPped with small data usage.

Their forum has people complaining about poor service. They had an issue with disappearing data where people with nothing running and modem turned off would lose their entire month data usage allotment in an hour and the company would not make it good.

Customer service sucks through Viasat, people call and don't get off hold for 30-45 minutes and then get disconnected.

People like me who get it direct through Viasat get unlimited usage between midnight and 5:00am. Those who get the service through Dish may not get that free data usage. When you get capped for going of usage amount they slow your service until your reset date.

Roadside Tax Collector
Avatar
Bronze
  • Joined Sep 2006
  • Posts 6706
  • Location USA MS, USA
Online Positive Feedback
Bronze
  • Joined Sep 2006
  • Posts 6706
  • Location USA MS, USA
Online Positive Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 2:23:18 PM EST
Interesting. I guess I may just have to suffer with AT&T. Cable is unavailable where I'm at.

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile
fla556guy: "When you have a shit-hole the answer is to flush it as fast as possible, not bathe in the shit."
Basic
  • Joined Sep 2011
  • Posts 890
  • Location USA PA, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Basic
  • Joined Sep 2011
  • Posts 890
  • Location USA PA, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 2:40:51 PM EST

Originally Posted By Mak:
Originally Posted By ARJJ:
I currently have AT&T DSL internet, and I'm sick of the spotty service and horrible customer service. Since I already have Dish for TV, I was thinking about adding their internet. Anyone have it, and do you like it?

Posted Via AR15.Com Mobile


Aren't they just a reseller for Viasat Exede/Wildblue? I have Exede because at my current house I can get nothing else. If you can get cable go with that, I had cable for 10 years.

Satellite internet is only for those that can get nothing else. It works well when it works but you get DAPped with small data usage.

Their forum has people complaining about poor service. They had an issue with disappearing data where people with nothing running and modem turned off would lose their entire month data usage allotment in an hour and the company would not make it good.

Customer service sucks through Viasat, people call and don't get off hold for 30-45 minutes and then get disconnected.

People like me who get it direct through Viasat get unlimited usage between midnight and 5:00am. Those who get the service through Dish may not get that free data usage. When you get capped for going of usage amount they slow your service until your reset date.


I USED to work for dish and they used to bundle with other companies. Wild blue being the major one. The Internet was slow as fuck and had major bandwidth restrictions. I would avoid it at all costs. Seeing the new commercials it looks like they may have took over a company or launched their own service. If you do go with them be sure you find out if there are bandwidth restrictions. It wil suck if they cut you off half way through the month because you used it too much.
Basic
  • Joined Jul 2001
  • Posts 4736
  • Location USA VA, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Basic
  • Joined Jul 2001
  • Posts 4736
  • Location USA VA, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 3:00:52 PM EST
IF it is satellite internet run, run, RUn away.. as mentioned by the first poster - it is a last resort when after dail up, dsl/cable, and wireless..

The new satellite packages are super fast compared to the older satellite service - but its still satellite..

with anything but cable/dsl you will have data limits - if you ever want to game/stream music/stream video satellite/wireless is NOT for you

good luck

Brian
Mak
Member
Avatar
Bronze
  • Joined Jan 2002
  • Posts 19304
  • Location USA MI, USA
Offline Positive Feedback
Bronze
  • Joined Jan 2002
  • Posts 19304
  • Location USA MI, USA
Offline Positive Feedback
NRAMilitary
Posted: 4/28/2013 3:35:02 PM EST
Yes, the Viasat Exede-12 service from Wildblue is fast, 12Mbs and faster during late night hours. But the system sucks with the data caps and they recently took the caps off for a month to fix the system due to a problem with their system stealing customers usage when they weren't even using it. They brought the data caps back and surprise, they fixed nothing.

Dish uses Wildblue to provide internet service when a satellite is the only option. You get locked into a two year contract and their contract doesn't even guarantee the service will work. You have to buy your way out of it.

Hughes Gen 4 is supposedly even worse.

If cable is available go with it.
This is why we can't have nice things.
Avatar
Bronze
  • Joined May 2005
  • Posts 18570
  • Location USA FL, USA
Offline Positive Feedback
Bronze
  • Joined May 2005
  • Posts 18570
  • Location USA FL, USA
Offline Positive Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 3:35:45 PM EST
"Oh look, a cloud in the sky! Hey... what happened to my connections?"



Front seat rider of the short bus! Window licker extraordinaire!
Living vicariously through myself
Avatar
Bronze
  • Joined Mar 2002
  • Posts 13130
  • Location USA AZ, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Bronze
  • Joined Mar 2002
  • Posts 13130
  • Location USA AZ, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 3:37:03 PM EST
I've had Dish TV since 1996 and I love it - I would never sign up for the internet service though....
Courage is not the lack of fear. It is acting in spite of it.
~Mark Twain~

"What contemptible scoundrel has stolen the cork to my lunch!"
~ W.C. Fields ~
Basic
  • Joined Feb 2005
  • Posts 1009
  • Location USA TX, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Basic
  • Joined Feb 2005
  • Posts 1009
  • Location USA TX, USA
Offline Neutral Feedback
Posted: 4/28/2013 3:47:28 PM EST
Former Dish and DirecTV employee here. I agree with what everyone said above, stay away from Satallite Internet unless you live in the middle of nowhere. It is way too expensive for what you get.
Personally, I would never ever have Any sort of Dish Metwork service in my house. I never saw a company so he'll bent on lying to customers and employees. I have also noticed DirecTV is starting to suck ass too since Hughes sold it off.
Stay with what you have and be happy it is not 56K dial up.
Top