Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 2/19/2013 12:24:22 PM EDT
I'm making a 12 X 20 chicken coop in the back corner of my barn. Here are some pics as things progress.

ETA: Yes I have raised chickens before, yes there will be windows and ventilation, no I won't just leave the floor as concrete, yes I know that poop stinks, yes I know I could have built this outside, there are multiple reasons why I chose the location I did, yes I know that other things like to kill and eat chickens besides humans, yes I know that I am not a construction worker by trade and some of you could have done this better than me...
Here is the first load of wood that I'll start with. Kind of winging it.

Link Posted: 2/19/2013 12:54:45 PM EDT
[#1]
Great setup.  Looking forward to seeing the final product.
Link Posted: 2/19/2013 1:00:26 PM EDT
[#2]
Looks good so far.......what is your plan to keep from suffocating from the ammonia fumes

Chickinshit death.....
Link Posted: 2/19/2013 1:05:09 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
Looks good so far.......what is your plan to keep from suffocating from the ammonia fumes

Chickinshit death.....

Agreed,  you need to put a few windows/fans in somewhere to get some fresh air in there.  

Are you going to have it open up to the outside to allow them to free range at all?  If so,  I might suggest this door that you can mount on the barn wall.  You program it when you want it to open and close and it lets them out automatically every day. I have this on my coop, and it makes it nice if you are gone for the day, you know the chickens will already be safe behind a closed door when you get home late.

http://www.chickendoors.com/products.htm
Link Posted: 2/19/2013 1:18:16 PM EDT
[#4]
We did the exact same thing. Of course, our barn is around 100 years old... so it looked a bit different in the end.
Link Posted: 2/19/2013 1:40:38 PM EDT
[#5]
Wish I had a barn