Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/30/2012 6:28:46 PM EDT
I made this today so I could mess with my Arduino a bit. I'm sure the code could be better, but it certainly works.

Link Posted: 12/30/2012 6:40:01 PM EDT
[#1]
Now write in a PWM dimming feature.
Link Posted: 12/30/2012 6:47:20 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:

I think I'll do an on/off switch next. I'm still pretty new to all of this so I don't know how to power 10 LEDs like this without frying an output while using less than 1 output per LED.

Link Posted: 12/30/2012 6:54:15 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

Quoted:

I think I'll do an on/off switch next. I'm still pretty new to all of this so I don't know how to power 10 LEDs like this without frying an output while using less than 1 output per LED.  

Run your output through a transistor on your breadboard. Find one that will handle the current you need + at least 25%
Link Posted: 12/30/2012 6:55:10 PM EDT
[#4]
nice
Link Posted: 12/30/2012 6:57:57 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Quoted:

Run your output through a transistor on your breadboard. Find one that will handle the current you need + at least 25%

I know that's the way to do it, but I need to do some more reading about them. I have one which should handle a good amount of current, but I want to do some more reading before doing it that way.

Link Posted: 12/30/2012 6:58:09 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:

nice

Thanks!

Link Posted: 12/30/2012 7:18:04 PM EDT
[#7]
BTW, what do you have in the way of sensors? There is a bunch of cool shit you can do with those things. There are ultrasonic sensors, thermocouples, IR sensors, hall effect sensors, etc, etc. Sky's the limit with the applications you can come up with.

Bread boarding by itself can be fun and educational too! You can build circuits using discrete components or IC based circuitry. The 555 timer IC is great for starters. You can build tons of stuff around it.

Link Posted: 12/30/2012 7:29:38 PM EDT
[#8]