Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/21/2014 7:38:03 PM EDT
So I came outside this morning and found what I believe to be a immature puff ball mushroom. I remember  eating these all the time in upstate New York but cant remember what they look like. So far all the pictures I found point that this is what it is and it smells like a mushroom but not overpowering and I cannot find any for producing Gills which is a main characteristic of puffballs mushrooms. What do you guys think? By the way, I'm a resident of northern ky and this was found in the middle of my yard'. Not on a tree or anything.

Link Posted: 8/21/2014 7:48:45 PM EDT
[#1]
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=8&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CD8QFjAH&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.rogersmushrooms.com%2F&ei=TYX2U8kjqP7wAZKXgaAF&usg=AFQjCNECyaGN2oeBOaiScvKe9usYXLBAew&sig2=pwE-eDuPah5PAF_RLtIP8g
Link Posted: 8/21/2014 11:16:07 PM EDT
[#2]
I emailed a mycologist I found online, and was told that 100% without a doubt its a calvatia cythaformis, or purple puffball mushroom. Hopefully In can find more close by.
Link Posted: 9/16/2014 9:23:24 PM EDT
[#3]
Could be. I would even say probably is, but unless you know exactly what you're doing, don't eat it. Immature puffballs can look like amanitas which are deadly. Get a good book and study it. Go out with shroomers that know what they are doing. The consequences can be death or failed liver, kidneys, etc for life.
Link Posted: 9/17/2014 12:44:01 PM EDT
[#4]
Just be absofuckinglutely sure there aren't any gills in there.  Juvie Amanitas Look a lot like puffballs and they're pertty good at killin'folks from what I hear.ETA,  What he said.  
Link Posted: 9/17/2014 2:06:29 PM EDT
[#5]
Aminita are called the angel of death.
Basically molecules enter the blood and wreck the Glomerulus & Bowmans capsule within the kidneys....