Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/9/2014 8:47:25 PM EDT
Dear arfcom culinary experts,

I need to equip my new kitchen so that I may prepare tasty, healthy, and economical meals in order to balance the budget and enhance my quality of life.

In my youth, I worked as a short order cook for a few years, I am comfortable in the kitchen.  However, I have dined out almost exclusively for too long to remember

So... What are the basic kitchen tools you'd suggest I pick up?

Again, starting from scratch.  Wait... damn
Link Posted: 7/9/2014 11:10:28 PM EDT
[#1]
Thats alot of crap

Off the top of my head-

Clad skillet, cast iron skillet, non stick skillet 10 or 12 inch

Smaller pots, large heavy oven proof cast pot, thinner pot for boiling water and the stuff that goes in it, like eggs

tongs, spatulas, wooden cooking implements, big cooking ladel

good chef knife, good paring knife, cutting board or cheap cutting mats, pepper mill

prolly missing some of the basics, dont worry about anything fancy until you have a need for it
Link Posted: 7/10/2014 12:31:26 AM EDT
[#2]
I would start with Alton Brown's Gear for your Kitchen book. While he does make specific brand and model recommendations the majority of it is letting you know what features and qualities you should consider in buying kitchen gear.
Link Posted: 7/10/2014 12:01:48 PM EDT
[#3]
hand-held cheese grater

whisks - small and large

measuring utensils: glass liquid measuring cups, stainless dry-goods measuring cups, stainless measuring spoons

9x13 oven-safe glass casserole dish

stainless or glass mixing bowls - ones with handles and pour spouts are best

pot holders and trivets

I'll probably think of more later.

ETA: if you don't mind used, the utensils, spoons, and measuring stuff that doesn't need to be great quality can be found cheaply at thrift stores.

Link Posted: 7/14/2014 1:32:10 AM EDT
[#4]