Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/23/2017 9:52:01 AM EDT
Have heard people swear on using screws and some on nails.  Which do you prefer and why?
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 10:00:16 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm an electrician so I would use screws. I suck at nailing.  
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 10:03:44 AM EDT
[#2]
Buy deck screws with either a Torx or square head, not Phillips. Usually you get a free bit with the box of screws. Use nails and you'll be pounding them back down every time you're using the deck.
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 10:06:18 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Buy deck screws with either a Torx or square head, not Phillips. Usually you get a free bit with the box of screws. Use nails and you'll be pounding them back down every time you're using the deck.
View Quote
Yep, if you use nails, they will be popping back up constantly.  It will drive you mad having to pound them all back down again.
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 10:14:04 AM EDT
[#4]
Screws, and don't cheap out.  Buy good, treated ones that won't rust out in three years.  You'll thank yourself later if you ever have to replace a deck board or access a buried line or something.

... and +1 on the square drive.  Much less finicky engagement between screw and bit than with a Philips.
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 10:29:36 AM EDT
[#5]
Screws.

Nails are for shear applications, where the stress is perpendicular to the shank of the fastener.

Screws are made to hold to pieces of wood together in longitudinal applications, parallel to the shank.
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 10:32:43 AM EDT
[#6]
Dad and I used nails when I was growing up.

Dad doesn't do anything right.

Good quality deck screws, as stated above.
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 11:16:35 AM EDT
[#7]
Screws.  At a minimum, ring shank nails.

A good deck screw holds better...
Link Posted: 3/23/2017 11:34:47 AM EDT
[#8]
Screws are best. I used stainless steel.