Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/18/2017 12:50:58 PM EDT
Title says it all.  I have a little bit of self taught experience with drywall, but am not sure how to deal with the pipes and beams below the rafters as seen in the pictures.  I have never messed around with drop ceilings, but I'm not too stupid and am fairly handy.  The goal is a functional, not hideous ceiling; my wife and I are not perfectionists.  Also fine to do this in small chunks.

Link Posted: 2/18/2017 12:53:28 PM EDT
[#1]
Also, we would like to remove this wall if possible.  I do not believe that it is a load bearing wall, correct?  It is not very far away from the previously posted vertical support in the post above this one.

Link Posted: 2/18/2017 12:59:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Not a load bearing wall.  rip it out.
Link Posted: 2/18/2017 1:10:48 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Not a load bearing wall.  rip it out.
View Quote

Yup. Runs parallel to joists with nothing resting on top.

As for the ceiling, a drop would be my choice. It will allow you to easily access plumbing and electrical for future work. It will also be easier to install most likely. If you have enough height, you can just set the drop ceiling about 2" below the lowest hanging piece. Then you'll have one level of drop ceiling and won't have to frame around anything. The other option would be to frame the soffits and drywall the vertical sections. This would allow higher ceilings in most areas and lower ceilings around items in the ceiling.

For a drywall ceiling, you would frame soffits around the HVAC, plumbing, and joists.
Link Posted: 2/18/2017 1:21:10 PM EDT
[#4]
I would do a drop ceiling. If any plumbing leaks or you have electrical problems or want to add anything in the future it's easy access. And you don't have to worry about the stuff that's under the joists already!
Link Posted: 2/18/2017 1:30:32 PM EDT
[#5]