Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/18/2010 10:39:36 PM EDT
So my wife and i just closed on our first home today and one of the first things i wanted to do was install new light fixtures.

Did the first one, it was a pain in the ass because the strap and the existing ceiling box holes didn't really line up all that great, but i got it done.

Went to do the second one and it was going very smoothly until the damn ceiling box was stripped. Only one screw to hold the strap on. The ground wire has a weird bracket that gets in the way of the strap and the screws lining up. And one of the mounting screws for the light itself doesn't go in because the box is stripped.

What do i do now? I'm a novice with electrical stuff but figured i could handle a task this simple. Can i use some kind of an epoxy? Can i re-tap the hole somehow? Can i use different screws? Also how can i tell if it's grounded properly, the copper wire is in the box and it calls for the grounding wire on the fixture to be screwed into the strap, is that the correct way?

The house was built in 1995 so it has new(er) electric i assume.
Link Posted: 10/18/2010 10:47:33 PM EDT
[#1]
fill the hole with epoxy or Gorilla glue. When its dry drill a pilot hole for the screw. You should be good to go then
Link Posted: 10/19/2010 3:12:40 AM EDT
[#2]
Find the next largest size tap and tap the hole.
Link Posted: 10/19/2010 3:13:42 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

Link Posted: 10/19/2010 6:17:18 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Quoted:

Tap for 8-32 in stripped 6-32 holes, and 10-32 in stripped out 8-32 holes.

You might have to enlarge the slot in the strap.

It sounds like something is really wrong though.

The mounting strap should have slots to attach to the box, and threaded holes for the fixture screws to then attach.

Link Posted: 10/19/2010 6:34:09 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 10/19/2010 8:56:20 AM EDT
[#6]