Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/15/2016 10:49:36 PM EDT
So, I still use my trusty old Canon 20D, long in the tooth but has always been reliable and as I'm not a pro I never felt the need to replace it, my daughter has shot a lot of weddings with it and every customer has been well satisfied.

Anyhow, crux of the buiscit is this; I have been using a Canon zoom, 70-210 I believe but am to lazy to go check at the moment?? It has an ultrasonic focusing motor and has image stabilizer. I have been using it for about 4 months along with a couple kit lenses and have had no issues, until last weekend. I was at my sons for my granddaughters birthday and switched to my 18-55 knock around lens and it would not focus, no confirmation beeps or lights on manual, no display for focus mode, nada, nada, nada. Switched to another lens and same deal. I could manually focus and shoot but the camera was not recognizing either lens as AF, switch back to the 70-210 and everything works perfectly fine and I can chose focus mode in typical fashion.

Before anyone asks I tried all three lenses on my brothers 30D and they functioned normally, so I flashed the firmware on the 20D and it still won't recognise the focus features on the two smaller lenses. So what could be wrong and how do I fix it?
Link Posted: 10/16/2016 12:43:21 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 10/16/2016 7:04:19 PM EDT
[#2]

Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Is there an auto/manual switch on the camera? If so, it may have gotten switched by accident.

And yeah, that camera's old as shit. Time to update.

Edit:

If it's not the a/m switch on the camera, you've probably got dirty or damaged contacts on the camera.
View Quote