Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/13/2017 2:08:12 PM EDT
I've been doing SL 5x5 for a couple months, had to take a month off for a couple reasons. I'm getting back in to it. At the same time I'm trying to be a better/faster runner. I've recently started doing some OCRs with my wife and some friends, and I've been signing up for other road races as well. How are you all incorporating weight training with running? I don't want to be too sore from one that the other is neglected. I'm not trying to be a body builder, just looking for total body strength. I enjoy the strongman style lifts as they are for practical strength. I think I may download a Couch to 10K style app for the running. I am currently about 69 inches and I fluctuate anywhere from 176 to 179 pounds. I don't know what my BMI is.
Link Posted: 6/13/2017 3:31:30 PM EDT
[#1]
No running.  Only lifting bro.  If you need cardio, just incorporate high rep sets.

Link Posted: 6/13/2017 3:52:13 PM EDT
[#2]
Because the army still tests me to run 2 miles I have incorporated running with my lifting program.  Though, I do just enough to maintain.  So about 3 - 4 miles a week a mix of 2 mile runs and speed 1 mile runs after lifting about 2-3 days a week.

I'm still able to lift heavy and intense and making steady gains.  Though, your nutrition plan will be key to any goals you have.
Link Posted: 6/13/2017 8:24:01 PM EDT
[#3]
Long distance running and strength training don't really go together well.

I wouldn't do anything over a 5k.

Sprints are your friend.
Link Posted: 6/14/2017 5:23:51 AM EDT
[#4]
The sucky part about running is that it's time consuming and it burns calories you could be using to build muscle, it's also high impact so it can bang up your knees, shins and ankles.