Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/28/2014 9:13:13 PM EDT
Hi I am new to hunting and I guess am a wannabe bow hunter. I have been trying to get my first deer in the Ocala national forest pipeline unit and have sat 5 hole days and only ever seen a doe stalking. what im getting at is can anyone from the area help with advice? do deer bed down in the clear cuts full of scrub oak wich I notice are full of acorns this time of year or are they  there during the night and bed down in the pines and thickit? when should I go sit in the morning im out there by 5 or 6am and no one is out there I here cars going by around 8am? any help would be appreciated would love to bag my first buck this year.
Link Posted: 10/1/2014 4:23:18 PM EDT
[#1]
Not from FL, but whitetails tend to do the same thing everywhere.  Typically, once it gets to be hunting season, deer will bed down in the inaccessible thick stuff, or swamps all day long and come out at night to feed in the open oaks, etc.  Well before daylight, they'll begin leaving the food and heading into the bedding areas, so if you can sneak in between the bed and feeding areas and be set up for the first minutes of legal shooting time, then you might intercept a big one coming in to bed.   Otherwise, once they get bedded in, it pretty much takes something or someone to go into those thick places and scare them out and get them moving around.  Sometimes though, on nice days, deer will come out naturally during the day to feed, especially around mid-day and afternoon, but these will usually be younger, smaller, less experienced deer.  I also like being near a water source, like a small clean flowing stream or near the head of a creek.   Because deer like to come out and get water throughout the day too.