Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/12/2017 12:02:51 PM EDT
I have wanted to get into HAM radio since 2006, but Iraq and college and life got in the way. I studied for about 2 weeks using the "no nonsense guide". I missed one question. I missed 11 on the general exam.

I know there are a lot of "just passed" threads, but for me this feels like quite a big milestone. I've wanted this for a long time and I'm excited to finally get a radio and figure all of this out.

My eventual goal would be to reach 50-100 miles simplex with a mobile rig in order to communicate with buddies out in the sticks. Will that be possible with tech freqs or will I absolutely need HF for general? I plan to study this month for general and take it in 2 or 3 weeks. The terrain here is very flat.

P.S. I know nothing so go easy on me.
Link Posted: 8/12/2017 12:17:22 PM EDT
[#1]
For once I get to be the first to congratulate a new ham!

Congratulations!

Yes, you need General, too.  It will go distances you just can't achieve with UHF and VHF and repeaters.
Link Posted: 8/12/2017 12:43:40 PM EDT
[#2]
First, congratulations!
Second, study a bit more and get that General.

To try to answer your question, a lot depends on exactly what you mean. I am assuming 2M mostly here.
If you mean mobile to mobile, while actually mobile, you are just not going to get reliable communication over those distances.

In reality, that sort of distance is quite hard for mobile to mobile on any frequency. On HF because ground-wave power drops off fast, and mobile antennas are pathetically inefficient.

If you are talking about choosing a spot (in the car or from home) to talk to someone similarly situated, 50 miles shouldn't be too difficult.
100 is pushing it for regular comms. Especially FM. Now SSB is a different proposition, but few cheaper mobile rigs offer SSB.

The antenna is the key in any case.