Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/21/2014 1:10:47 PM EDT
I've been using this Stihl for almost 20 years.  Seriously, 20.

Last season it began to develop an issue.  The chain would get loose.  I'd tighten it up and cut another tank of gas...chain is loose.  I mean, sloppy, about to slop off.

I'd tighten it and by then I was out of chain tensioner movement.

I thought I was doing something wrong.  Over tightening, using too light of bar oil, pushing the bar/chain too hard?

The other day I bought a new bar, 20" and installed it along with the new chain that came with it.  The tensioner was already at HALF its movement before the chain was even used.  Just installing required half the movement.

I cut exactly ONE tank of gas with it and the chain was so loose it was slopping off.

I'm not pushing down on the saw, I am running it with bar/chain oil.  The bar is not heat stressed (no visual burns, or paint missing).  The chain shows some wear, but, I can 'hear' a singing chain when it is not being lubed properly.

Holding the running saw over dry leaves shows a steady smear of oil droplets spinning off the chain.

Something is wrong, but, I don't know where, mechanically, I should look now.

TRG
Link Posted: 12/21/2014 1:23:43 PM EDT
[#1]
What are you cutting?  I used to cut a LOT of almond wood.  It was pretty tough on chains and tightening every tank of gas was not out of the realm, especially with an older chain.
Link Posted: 12/21/2014 1:24:54 PM EDT
[#2]
Just in case you don't know,
Be sure to push up on the bar when
Installing it. Not doing so has caused my chain to
Loosen up.
Link Posted: 12/21/2014 1:27:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
What are you cutting?  I used to cut a LOT of almond wood.  It was pretty tough on chains and tightening every tank of gas was not out of the realm, especially with an older chain.
View Quote