Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/2/2017 9:45:44 AM EDT
I'm headed out this weekend for a 2 night hammock camping trip.  Temps are expected to drop to 23 degrees.  I have a Wiggy's 25 degree bag and a Warbonnet outdoors yeti under quilt also a 20 degree rating. I'm a warm sleeper so with the addition of some hand warmers thrown into the sleeping bag will my 20 degree bag be "enough" to stay comfortable?
Link Posted: 2/2/2017 10:59:48 AM EDT
[#1]
Not even close, if I am sleeping in 20 degree weather I use a -20 sleeping bag or stuff one 20 degree bag inside another. You will be fine for a few hours but you will wake up with a chill in your bones that will take all day to get rid of.
But I am 6'5" tall so my feet commonly are cold anyway [poor circulation]. High Tech long jons will help but not the old cotton stuff, a warm cap will help as well.  I have a -40 bag that I use if it is going to be around zero degrees. Good luck.
Link Posted: 2/2/2017 1:39:57 PM EDT
[#2]
I think you will be ok, but it depends on a lot of factors. I've not slept with a hammock setup, I have backpacked a fair amount with a tent and a 30 degree bag and found it to be adequate to outside temps dropping into the 20's.

But, there is no standard means of grading a bag as adequate for "X" degrees, and some manufacturers are better than others at rating their bags.  As well, each person sleeps differently.  And as a final caveat, in my case my tent always stays a few degrees warmer inside than the outside air.

All that means is I would be comfortable with taking my bag out in those temperatures, your bag isn't unreasonable but it doesn't hurt to take a backup blanket or something until you're more familiar with your setup.

Wear some base layer and a hat to bed, stay hydrated, and maybe snack on something like a snickers before turning in.
Link Posted: 2/2/2017 9:38:02 PM EDT
[#3]
What's between the bag and the hammoc?