Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/12/2016 12:17:43 PM EDT
Next month my son is going to hike part of the Appalachian Trail. He's planning on starting in North Carolina and head South. Does anyone have any experience with that part of the trail, and could you recommend some decent footwear? Why we're at it, any suggestions on any other equipment that would benefit him, things that a rookie would tend to overlook? He's 23 and has experience hunting and camping, as well as day hiking, so he's no stranger to the outdoors, but no experience with this type of adventure. He'll also be accompanied by a friend of my youngest son, who has hiked part of the trail before. They plan to be out two weeks. Thanks for any experience and advice you can share.
Link Posted: 8/12/2016 4:16:07 PM EDT
[#1]
Boots:
Danner
Lowa

Socks:
Darn Tough
Fits
Injinji (under)

I have no experience with that trail.

My experience is that most people bring way too much junk and not enough water or food.
Plan each meal for each day and have some water purification tabs for if you get in a pinch.
Have a set of spare clothes in a dry bag.
Keep the sleeping bag in a dry bag.
Have  a water proof cover for your bag and a poncho (+ for a poncho that goes over the pack)

(I dont like being wet)
Link Posted: 8/12/2016 6:13:07 PM EDT
[#2]
Have your son go to an REI or similar store and start trying on boots/shoes. What works for some doesn't for others. I am a fan of Keen and Altra since I have a wide toe box. Brands like Merrell and Salomon don't work for me at all. As long as he sticks with a quality brand that fits he will be good to go.
Link Posted: 8/12/2016 9:29:31 PM EDT
[#3]

I am unfamiliar with the North Carolina section of the AT but I have hiked an extensive section of the trail in Virginia.

Some good advice already given but I'll add some specifics things that have helped me.