Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/12/2023 5:55:32 PM EDT
At what point are you shooting enough film (b&w) to make getting into film processing worthwhile?  

It doesn't look like the chemicals are outrageous $$,  unless they go off from sitting around for too long.

On the other hand is mail order processing a firewall to keep this hobby in check?
Link Posted: 9/12/2023 8:34:39 PM EDT
[#1]
When I started shooting in film a few years ago, I immediately got into home developing.  I love it.  The chemicals do go bad over time so I've gotten into a routine where I shoot a bunch of film then I develop as much as I can in a weekend or so.  

Bear in mind, different developers have different aspects of degrading.  D76 is what I use for black and white film developing.  It'll last a few months and you can refresh and add back into the mixture.  It will weaken and your images will come out with less contrast when that happens.

C41 is the most common color negative process used today.  It's shelf life is a couple of months and it has a very finite number of uses before it loses it's punch.  

E6 is for color reversal or slide film.  It's a more toxic process but if you master it, you can get some amazing results with films like Fujifilm Provia and Velvia.  Both offer amazing results but each is specific towards different color gradients.  Velvia works better in cooler color temperature images while Provia seems warmer.

Film developing may seem daunting at first but it's really not.  It'll take some time to tweak your skills and technique to come up with the results you want.  

For the record, I shoot 35mm, 6x4.5, 6x6cm medium format, and 4x5in large format.  It's a horrible, horrible addiction.
Link Posted: 9/12/2023 10:54:37 PM EDT
[#2]
I stumbled into a 4x5 and it looks like I'll need to do it myself if I'm going to use it much. If I go that far I might as well do some 35mm too.