Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/21/2024 10:47:05 AM EDT
Anyone ever self install a grid tie solar system?  

Thinking about doing a 5 kw system.  Have a perfect, non shaded south facing roof for it.

I have plenty of electrical knowledge and skills.

Headed toward retirement (still have 8-10 years to go) but am interested in reducing my monthly costs.  Could install a solar system in a few years while still working and have low/no electric bills in retirement.
Link Posted: 3/21/2024 11:45:01 AM EDT
[#1]
I’ve never done one, but they are pretty simple.  I have an acre of backyard that would be an easy rack mount and have looked into it.
Probably won’t do it.  My utility bill is pretty low.

One of my J man electricians quit when he got his masters and went to work for a solar company doing nothing but the panel tie ins.  He said the panels were just pure grunt work, there is some ground bonding to do.  It’s criminal what they charge for the installs.
Link Posted: 3/21/2024 12:35:42 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 3/21/2024 12:43:15 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By medicmandan:
I really want to find a solar company that will come put in the first few panels and do all the connections then I will add panels as funds allow.  No one seems interested in that.
View Quote

Nope, no money in that for them. They make money on the equipment markup, not as much on the labor. They want to tie you into long-term payment plans with big interest rates. I'd expect a competent independent electrician might be willing to do that for you on an hourly rate, they are generally used to working at an hourly rate with a small markup on materials. Have all the infrastructure installed by him and sized for the final number of panels you plan on installing.
Link Posted: 3/21/2024 12:45:18 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 3/21/2024 12:48:28 PM EDT
[#5]