Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/11/2022 10:04:05 AM EDT
I think I'd like to go and shoot my revolver for the first time this weekend, but I saw that a lubed wad or grease is recommend (but not necessarily required?) In each chamber.  

Would Vaseline or Crisco be an adequate substitute?   If so, which of them would you use?  I imagine Vaseline would be harder to remove during cleaning but since I have zero experience I will defer to your knowledge in that area!
Link Posted: 8/11/2022 10:33:33 AM EDT
[#1]
Long ago I used Crisco, it was ok but would melt.  I wonder if Vaseline could burn more easily..  Lately been using Bore Butter which is more solid.
Link Posted: 8/11/2022 6:40:36 PM EDT
[Last Edit: cviss] [#2]
Correct about crisco if it’s not too hot out crisco will work.. crisco  is use so you don’t have the other cylinders going off due to the sparks…

And it doesn’t have to Crisco brand the Walmart brand will work just as well
Link Posted: 8/11/2022 7:50:37 PM EDT
[#3]
Vaseline is petroleum jelly. You do not want to use petroleum products with a black powder firearm.

Bore butter will work, and there are others specially formulated for pistols.
Link Posted: 8/11/2022 9:20:13 PM EDT
[Last Edit: fervid_dryfire] [#4]
Temps are going to be in the 100s, and sunny.  That counts as hot to me, but maybe not in context.
Link Posted: 8/11/2022 10:11:18 PM EDT
[#5]
Dry felt 1/8" thick .44 wad with healthy smear of crisco on one side  dry side to powder (youll get some on anyway via handling -no worries you just dont want a big blob of grease on the powder especially in hot temps

Powder in chamber, geased wad then ball then ram it down  Rotate and repeat .  

Seal at front shoud be by lead -you want a sliver of a ring to shave off the ball. Balls come 451-454 and while a good tight friction fit works seeing that lead ring lets you know for sure