Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/22/2024 3:26:43 PM EDT
So for the few who don't know - I'm BRAND NEW to any kind of magnified optics beyond a 3X behind an Eotech.

So here's my question - I've been investigating the idea of an LPVO on my shorter AR pistol, and it seems a lot of people are going this way lately.

So I'm looking for an inexpensive (<$1k) used LPVO I can check this setup out with. Something with a DECENT 1X and nice big donut or horseshoe to ease the transition from my EXPS3 and nice fast acquisition. The problem is, nearly all of the reticles I'm finding with any sort of 'CQB' or "1X" sensibility tend to be BDC-type reticles set for 55gr/16". Now I'm an idiot remember, so forgive me if this is a stupid question - but isn't that gonna be pretty useless on my mostly 77gr / 11.5" rifle?

Any help appreciated.

Link Posted: 3/22/2024 3:42:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Instead of uniform subtensions between the hashes, BDC reticles will have predefined spacing based on whatever ammo and velocity the manufacturer intended to use.  You can use a BDC reticle with any barrel length, it just won’t match the drops that the manufacturer intended.
Just chrono your ammo through your barrel and plug that into your ballistic calculator like Strelok to find your drops.
Link Posted: 3/22/2024 7:08:15 PM EDT
[#2]
BDC stands for Best Damn Compromise, and I detest them.  I would prefer just moa or mil substensions that I can calculate my drops for.  But, they are few and most every scope has some sort of BDC so I just run the numbers from my chrono for whatever barrel length and load and keep notes.  

One way you can minimize the error with BDC is to zero the 300 yard/meter stadia @ 300.
Link Posted: 3/22/2024 7:15:32 PM EDT
[#3]
If you get away from the donut of death the delta stryker 1-6 had a mrad reticle and is pretty freaking legit