Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/25/2024 9:23:08 AM EDT
Good morning all I am a first time builder and rarely post but use this forum alot.

I have been trying to tighten my castle nut and my first mistake is without a vice...but I have this

Real Avid Master Fit Extended & Standard Castle Nut Wrench AVMFESCNW to fit on my torque wrench and all it does is slip off my castle nut and mar my threads and nut no matter how hard i try to keep it on.  
This forum has taken about the magpul, hammerhead, BCM which looks like mine, and Brownell.  And I am just looking for any advice on these wrenches or if a vice would have helped more or just this castle nut in general.

Thanks all.
Peace
Link Posted: 1/25/2024 9:31:07 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Tejas1836] [#1]
Make sure the wrench is facing the correct way, I've done that before and a closed end wrench works better
Link Posted: 1/25/2024 9:40:36 AM EDT
[#2]
A bench vise is essential. You'll not reach proper torque without a vise or jig.
Link Posted: 1/25/2024 9:53:11 AM EDT
[#3]
-Always use a vise and vise block. Magpul BEV Block works well as it has a steel I-beam running through it. It will not flex.
-Place your wrench correctly on the castle nut.
-Install a stock on the receiver extension.
-Slide the stock up against the wrench to keep it squared up and in place.
-Correct torque is 40ft/lb, but at that torque the receiver will start to flex if it is only held to the vise by the magwell. Approach this value with caution.
-Stake the end plate into the castle nut in 2 places.
Link Posted: 1/25/2024 10:00:52 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Bebop_941] [#4]
+1 to use a vise.  These are what I use:

This eliminates any flex and keeps your receiver extension from rotating as you torque the castle nut.

Link Posted: 1/25/2024 10:19:50 AM EDT
[#5]
Originally Posted By TGWLDR: