Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/22/2009 7:18:36 PM EDT
I am a dirt poor college student. I was recently looking over the CMP site, and saw that they have rack grade springfield M1 Garands for 445. They sell it without the stock for 375, barreled receivers for 275 and stripped receivers for 100. From people who own these rifles, are they any good? Or would I be better off buying a lower receiver and sending it off to fulton when I graduate college? I know CMP is running out, and I know I definitely want an M1 garand in the future. I was brought up shooting my dad's mint condition rifle that he bought for $150 20 years ago.

While I don't really plan on shooting NRA high power anytime soon, I would like to keep that option open in the future. Any help is appreciated!

Link Posted: 7/22/2009 7:31:13 PM EDT
[#1]
The SA Service Grade is your best value.  I don't believe they're taking orders for HRAs.  If you have to replace the stock or barrel on a Rack Grade, you'll have the cost of a Service Grade into it.  There used to be some nice USGI and Dane - returned Rack Grades available but that was a few years ago, when Greek RGs could be had for $295.00.  Good hunting.
Link Posted: 7/22/2009 7:42:10 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:

The SA Service Grade is your best value.  I don't believe they're taking orders for HRAs.  If you have to replace the stock or barrel on a Rack Grade, you'll have the cost of a Service Grade into it.  There used to be some nice USGI and Dane - returned Rack Grades available but that was a few years ago, when Greek RGs could be had for $295.00.  Good hunting.

Well, in the long term future, I wouldn't mind replacing the barrel. Also, if I wait long enough, I'll inhered the mint condition M1 garand since I'm the only one in the family who likes guns. So as long as the rifle works reliably, I'm not that concerned about the barrel's condition.

Link Posted: 7/22/2009 8:35:22 PM EDT