Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/14/2021 10:29:13 PM EDT
Hello everyone - new to the forums, thank you for having me here.

I am based in Michigan and have been doing some preliminary research on a home-based FFL. Specifically, I am looking at Class 7 SOT 02 so I can handle NFA items, which appear to be missing near my area. I'm an engineer in business development by trade and have devised a business plan, strategy in how to market, etc...but am looking for feedback regarding local ordinances and how the ATF may interpret it. In speaking with the city they just refer me to the code here - City Code - specifically the part about explosive or combustible material. There are other FFLs within the city, but all appear to be in commercial areas with home-based FFLs residing outside of the city.

My primary job is fully remote (even pre-COVID) so I'm able to be at home for transfers and remain flexible, and my wife is fully on board and wants to assist. Depending on how well the business performs, I may move operations to a storefront.

Thank you and appreciate the feedback.
Link Posted: 1/14/2021 11:05:00 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
.... I am looking at Class 7 SOT 02 so I can handle NFA items...
View Quote

Huh?
Any licensee can "handle NFA items"....including gunsmithing without paying SOT. SOT just means you pay a yearly flat rate instead of $200 a pop.
An 07FFL is for manufacturing firearms. "02" is the tax class for Special Occupational Taxpayers who are 07FFL's.
An 01FFL Dealer can engage in NFA transfers/sales by paying 03 SOT.

....looking for feedback regarding local ordinances and how the ATF may interpret it. In speaking with the city they just refer me to the code here - City Code - specifically the part about explosive or combustible material......
View Quote

Do you plan on storing explosives or combustible materials?
That has nothing to do with an FFL.