Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/4/2015 6:34:11 PM EDT
First off this is my first time reloading cast bullets for rifle so please correct me if I'm doing something wrong.

I am reloading Missouri Bullets 247gr for my 8in Blackout pistol
Per Missouri Bullets they are loaded at 2.12 overall length
I was subsonic rounds so I loaded five rounds with Accurate 1680 powder, 11.5gr, 11gr, 10.5gr and 10gr
First five 11.5gr were consistently around 1050, but I noticed first cycle didn't  feed, and the edge of the bullet was shaving off
Second five 11gr were around 946 I believe, and first and second cycle didn't feed, again noticed shavings of edge of bullet.

Upon inspection, I noticed that the 11.5gr had a 3.6in group at 50 yards, 11gr had a 2.9in group at 50 yards. That is way to large for my expectation.
I measure the bullets diameter at 0.300 while the box stated 0.309.

Missouri hasn't commented on this yet. Any ideas?
Link Posted: 3/4/2015 6:37:55 PM EDT
[#1]
I wanted to also note that I have noticed feeding issues with magazines other than the standard steel magazines. I cycled five rounds through a military magazine and noticed no shaving. I have not shot it using that mag.
Link Posted: 3/4/2015 7:05:13 PM EDT
[#2]
You need to buy a good reloading manual and read it.

You always start at your beginning load and work up, starting high and going down is a good way to damage or blow up a gun.

As for not cycling, that could be due to a massive amount of things. Some rifles can't cycle subsonic loads without a can. This may be your problem. Cast bullets can be a little more advanced of a skill, I would suggest you get some jacketed bullets, and start to learn from there.
Link Posted: 3/4/2015 7:16:18 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
You need to buy a good reloading manual and read it.