Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Armory » Blades
Site Notices
Posted: 3/26/2009 5:38:07 PM EDT
OK all, I am looking for a microtech clone of an OTF model (unless you know of a place that gives a hell of a deal for active military- $400 is too much for me). I know the pro's and cons of real vs clone, and I am not looking for a $10 pot metal copy, but a usable clone.

Interested in a:

HALO III
UTX-70
Makora
Scarab

I am new to this, so I am looking for those of you in the know to pass along some of your secret websites...

Any help appreciated, feel free to send a message or email as well.
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 5:13:35 AM EDT
[#1]
Do you really want a MT clone? or a less exspensive OTF? Paragon used to make a decent OTF called the ATKO 10 for around 150.00. I have one and while it's not a MT its a very nice knife.

http://nicnac.net/en-us/dept_15.html

I would stay away from the clones....they are generally crap. And they will fail you with any kind of use at all.
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 7:56:54 AM EDT
[#2]
They cost the price for a reason. If you want to use if and not just have it for a toy, its worth the cost for quality. I would never want it to fail when i needed it. Specially if you are active military or LEO as you imply with your question about discounts.If you dont want to spend the cash on a nice out the front cause its to much, why not get a nice auto or nice fixed blade?

Pat
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 8:00:12 AM EDT
[#3]
With an OTF, buying a crap knife may actually be a safety risk.  Just save up.
Link Posted: 3/28/2009 10:27:56 AM EDT
[#4]
You get what you pay for. Stay away from clones they are made with poor QC andpoor quality materials.
Link Posted: 3/28/2009 10:53:06 AM EDT
[#5]
anyone have experience with this one?

http://www.bladeplay.com/item––Thunder-DA-OTF-Automatic––4348

seems to be at least a decent offering
Link Posted: 3/28/2009 11:08:11 AM EDT
[#6]