Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/6/2001 11:34:28 PM EDT
I need some help.

As a LE Firearms instructor, I have been encouraged to wage a campaign to get new service weapons to the patrol staff in my agency (end of the year and apparently we need to use the last of that budget).

As chiefs of police are usucally somewhat conservative when it comes to $$$, I wanted to get as much info as I could to support rotating out our old handguns, or possibly a change towards another weapon all together (a whole 'nuther topic, I know).

What I'm looking for is this:

Does anyone have any idea on the expected and/or average sevice life of a 9mm handgun (specifically the Beretta 92FS)?  Is there anywhere I can find this information in print, so I can present it to my chief?  I assume it has to be out there somewhere, but I can't find anything.  Beretta must have done some studies prior being awarded the US Military contract.

I have found estimates on the MK-23 SOCOM pistol, putting the barrel, slide and frame at 30,000 rounds... but zip on the 92FS.  I guess it isn't a sexy enough pistol anymore.

Please help.
Link Posted: 12/6/2001 11:57:57 PM EDT
[#1]
I am in no way an expert when it comes to pistol wear.  However, it is my understanding that parts like the slide stop and various small trigger parts will wear out on the average pistol (especially Berettas from what I have read/remember) long before any barrel, mag, slide or ect. will.