Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/15/2002 4:12:31 PM EDT
I am an NRA Instructor, and often teach new shooters handgun techniques.  I also need to improve my own shooting ability.  Therefore, a 22lr pistol seems like an obvious choice.  I'd like a revolver (just so there's no slide or ejected brass), but they're running $500+?!  So, I've settled on a semi.

I'd like a stainless/nickel finish, ~4" barrel, easy to clean (so I use it often) and reliable.  Here's what I've thought of the options:

* Browning Buckmark: Love 'em.  Pros: Easy to clean, easy on the eye, good price (~$250-350).  Cons: Can't find any worth buying.  Have been looking for months.

* Ruger Mark II or 22/45: Pros: attainable, good price (~$250-$350), been around forever.  Reliable design.  Cons: Really tough to clean, anything Ruger makes lasts ~2 days before rusting.  Still don't like buying Ruger.

I still can't bring myself to buy a S&W.  What do you guys recommend?  Anybody know of any good sources for a Browning Buckmark?  

I also have .223 suppressors, and will consider getting a threaded bull barrel.  It would allow me to plink all day without anyone even knowing it.  Any advice is appreciated.

Black Fox
Link Posted: 7/15/2002 4:52:17 PM EDT
[#1]
You could go with a stainless steel Ruger, no worries about rust, like this one:
RUG KMK512 MKII TGT 22 5 1/2 SS
In stock and I'll cut you a schweet deal brother.  Sorry about not having any Buckmarks, if you find one out of state, let me know and I'll do the transfer for you.  Meanwhile I'll check back with my Distributor everyday until you tell me you've found one or given up.