Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/20/2005 10:31:43 PM EDT
Just bought my son a 98 Mauser dated 1940 with german eagles intact.   Anyhow I'd like to find info on the rifle such as basic disassembly and such.   Any good places to find mauser info?
Link Posted: 7/20/2005 10:34:00 PM EDT
[#1]
There's a couple of Mauser forums on Gunboards.  Milsurpshooters.net has some also.

Dennis Jenkins

Quoted:
Just bought my son a 98 Mauser dated 1940 with german eagles intact.   Anyhow I'd like to find info on the rifle such as basic disassembly and such.   Any good places to find mauser info?

Link Posted: 7/20/2005 11:01:58 PM EDT
[#2]
Any 8mm I should steer clear of?   I'm assuming assuming it's 8mm as the marking on the barrel was 7,9 or something to that effect.   It's my first purchase of a surplus rifle so take it easy on the noob here.

I ordered a can of the linked 8mm that's being sold on sportsmansguide  ( want an 8mm setup for a 1919 anyhow )  Any info on this ammo?  www.sportsmansguide.com/cb/cb.asp?a=198082
Link Posted: 7/20/2005 11:08:15 PM EDT
[#3]
I've had prettty good luck with the Romanian stuff in mine, used some Turk before that.....it was OK, but I've seen mixed reports.
Where did you pick it up? And tell him congrats for me! Will you be my dad too?
Link Posted: 7/20/2005 11:54:23 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
I've had prettty good luck with the Romanian stuff in mine, used some Turk before that.....it was OK, but I've seen mixed reports.
Where did you pick it up? And tell him congrats for me! Will you be my dad too?

Gun broker on 82nd in clackamas.   I'm still waiting for the call that it's been cleared to pick up.  
Link Posted: 7/21/2005 12:00:16 AM EDT
[#5]
Cool.......if you get a hankering to shoot it before your internet order shows up, Phoenix armory in OC usually has some surplus 8mm in stock.
Did you get my e-mail about the PR stuff?
Link Posted: 7/21/2005 12:21:41 AM EDT
[#6]