Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/11/2014 9:54:09 PM EDT
Today is a great day for me! I picked up my first 1911 after yearning for one for so long. I also picked up another stripped AR15 lower while I was at it. The lower is a S&W MP and the 1911 is the Springfield 1911 Range Officer. I didnt want to spend over $1k right now and the RO was within my range and to my liking. I really like the finish and it felt really comfortable in the hand. I also want to personalize the 1911 to my liking and preferences as well and I couldnt justify buying something over $1000 just to change some of the parts that may make it that much as well. In other words, I wanted a good solid platform and the RO seems to deliver.

With that being said, I have very little knowledge about modifying a 1911. Seems a bit far fetched, I know. I just saw a sub 1k 1911 that got excellent reviews that I can modify.

My first modification or alteration I would like to do is to replace the sights. I dont intend to take this to any competitions, so I would like to change them to something more visible. What would be the best route to go? I am looking for something stream line and sleek.

Also, what are some other basic or upgrades that I need to consider in order to make my first 1911 my last (so to speak). It more than likely wont be my last 1911, but since its my first, I want to keep it until one of us gives out.

So I call out to you my fellow 1911 owners. I need your wisdom and advice to help me make this a superb firearm. I love this handgun a lot and I believe that I have made the right choice. All I want to do now is perfect it and send many rounds down range without fail.  

Link Posted: 8/12/2014 3:05:11 AM EDT
[#1]
Congrats on the RO...nice gun.

If you're looking to change sights, especially the rear, the RO limits you tremendously.

I believe Harrison and Heinie are about it for the rear because of unusual cut.