Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/11/2005 6:36:15 AM EDT
"Listen to Bill Laughridge, who said to me, 'Tell your readers in all caps, DON'T USE +P IN HI-POWERS! It's been my experience that even a few magazines of +P will upset the locking lugs.'"

I am new to the Hi-Power...just bought a MkIII from a cash-strapped friend. My 9mm carry load is the 115gr +p+ Speer Gold Dot from Georgia Arms. Would I be looking for trouble firing that round (400-500 rounds a year) in a Hi-Power?
Link Posted: 10/11/2005 1:51:57 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
"Listen to Bill Laughridge, who said to me, 'Tell your readers in all caps, DON'T USE +P IN HI-POWERS! It's been my experience that even a few magazines of +P will upset the locking lugs.'"

Would I be looking for trouble firing that round (400-500 rounds a year) in a Hi-Power?

Seems like you already had your answer???????  
Link Posted: 10/11/2005 2:47:42 PM EDT
[#2]
I don't think so and I don't believe Stephen Camp does either.  See Stephen Camp.

--
Mike
Link Posted: 10/11/2005 4:18:18 PM EDT
[#3]
Well, as one who owns a nice Browning HP Practical model & shoots a lot of handguns thru the year, I wouldn't consider shooting +P in any alloy frame handgun. If *I* need +P, I would go to a bigger caliber, IMO.

My .o2
Link Posted: 10/11/2005 4:24:46 PM EDT
[#4]
Then could someone explain to me how they fire Euro spec 9mm in them all the time? Thats +P. The Brits and Canadians seem to have no trouble with it....
Link Posted: 10/11/2005 5:02:13 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 10/12/2005 4:41:19 AM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:
Well, as one who owns a nice Browning HP Practical model & shoots a lot of handguns thru the year, I wouldn't consider shooting +P in any alloy frame handgun. If *I* need +P, I would go to a bigger caliber, IMO.

My .o2

1. FN\Browning HP's are not alloy framed (They are steel)