Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/1/2006 11:46:05 AM EDT
I just picked up my new XD45 last night and I'm looking to upgrade to tritium night sights.  I think that I've decided on the Meprolight sights.  

I am relatively new to handgun shooting and this is the first time I've ever bought aftermarket sights for a pistol.  I saw that several of the companies, including Meprolight have green, yellow, and orange rear sights.  After doing some research, I found that if a person goes with a color other than green, they should go with the yellow, as the tritium lasts longer than in the orange.

The question is, should I just stick with the green front and rear or should I get the yellow rear sights?  Are there any advantages to having different colors?

Sorry if this has been discussed before, I did a search for sights but didn't come up with any answers.

Also, I'm not really planning on installing these myself.  Should I send the slide back to SA to have the sights installed or is it safe to trust a local gunshop to do this?

Thanks for any help.
Link Posted: 2/1/2006 1:07:12 PM EDT
[#1]
I prefer the different colors. I've used red rear/green front and yellow rear/green front. Either works fine for me. If your local gunshop can do it let them. I don't see any reason to send it back to SA.
Link Posted: 2/2/2006 2:55:20 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 2/2/2006 7:00:34 AM EDT
[#3]
With practice the gun will come up and point with the sights aligned. If you want different colors, I Think green is the brightest and so I would put it in front and I prefer yellow in the rear.
Link Posted: 2/2/2006 2:27:33 PM EDT
[#4]
Thanks guys.  

I guess I'll try the yellow rear sight with the green front sight.
Link Posted: 2/7/2006 7:54:02 AM EDT
[#5]