Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/31/2005 7:03:20 AM EDT
I am new to handguns so I need lots of help  
When I go home on R&R leave, I want to get a 45 ACP pistol but I dont have any idea on what to get.

I just need your opinions

Thanks a lot
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 8:07:29 AM EDT
[#1]
Glock is currently offering MIL the LEO prices if you can find a dealer that will work with you...
www.gtdist.com/SearchResults.aspx?SubCat=HAND&SubSub=GLOCK&Category=GUNAM
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 8:16:31 AM EDT
[#2]
Glocks are decent.

Personally I perfer 1911's and of the availble manufacturers I prefer Kimber.

The Sig Sauer P220 is nice if you prefer Double Single Action.

Just my .02
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 3:32:10 PM EDT
[#3]
H&K USP  
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 3:39:47 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
When I go home on R&R leave, I want to get a 45 ACP pistol but I dont have any idea on what to get.

Thanks a lot

hey bud, I think the consensus with the gun community when it comes to first time purchasers is that you just have to follow one piece of advice:

1.) Save some money, and rent the guns that most interest you and shoot them. This will truly give you first hand experience with the weapon and allow to see which one you shoot the straightest, enjoy the most, and can be the safest with.

So, if you can get to a range and rent a glock, any variations of 1911, Sig 220, H&K USPs, you cannot go wrong with either of those pistols..

good luck and let us know how it goes..
Link Posted: 7/31/2005 6:53:31 PM EDT
[#5]
I guess i will just have to wait unitl I get my R&R leave and go home to see my dad, I forgot how many pistols my dad has so I will jsut ask him if I can shoot each own of them to get come feel for them. I only have 15 days of leave and I am stationed in Germany so I dont have a lot of time to practice. I will be in Germany till April 2010 as of right now so I am kinda in a hurry.

Thank you so much for your input.