Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 7/3/2003 7:56:39 AM EDT
Hello,

I am new to the AK scene having spent the majority of my time over in the AR part of the world.
I notice that there are many different countries of origin for AK's and I was wondering which to avoid?
Back before I went to Canada a few years ago, I had an Russian SKS which was much sturdier than the Chinese version and wondered if AK's have the same issues.

I might be getting a great deal on one next week from a very motivated seller in the sticks.

thanks,

gilfrd
Link Posted: 7/3/2003 8:06:58 AM EDT
[#1]
There are no bad AKs, they all work.  Some may be prettier than others but presuming they are not broken, they all usually work fine.  The ARsenal Inc. SAM7 is probably the nicest of the current production, with the Romanian SAR series being the chevy of the crowd.  I prefer the stamped receiver versions as they weigh two pounds less and are every bit as strong.  There are used chinese on the market and they are just fine, but the parts do not necessarily interchange with Euro pattern. Many choices but you will not go wrong with any.The lower end should cost you about $350 new, with the higher end going over $600.  Don't bother with preban unless you are a pure collector.  There is no shooting advantage in preban AKs.
Link Posted: 7/3/2003 9:23:10 AM EDT
[#2]
Shotar is on target. While I prefer the milled receivers due to the extra weigh, it makes no differece in function.

About all I would add is to stay away from anything made by Hesse.
Link Posted: 7/3/2003 9:58:45 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 7/4/2003 6:09:47 AM EDT
[#4]