Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 9/21/2004 9:10:58 PM EDT
First off, this is my first rifle-ish build of any kind. I have built a semi-custom 1911 but that's obviously a bit more of a drop in operation than this. However in writing this I ended up answering a lot of my own questions so I have a high degree of confidence that I can pull it off.

Now that the ban is gone I am considering a screw together Krink pistol build, but i have a few questions that I have not seen answered on the board. I really don't want to hear how people distrust screw builds. Red loc tite and good quality fasteners make a stronger connection than any rivet I have seen, and the machinist I know and trust more than any other machinist in the world agrees. It will be a 7.62. I am going to have a brake on it to help manage reciol, but that is really of very little concern to me as I am just building this as a "shooting with friends" gun and not a real workhorse. I will be using using the k-var krink kit and the OOW receiver.

Who will press the barrel into the trunion for me and how much will it cost? Should I get the underfolder kit (keeping in mind that I am not using the underfolder) and save a few bucks since it comes with the trunion, or is there a reason to get the other kit and buy a trunion?

I want to get all black furinture. Anyone know if I have to (and can) get specific krink furniture, or is it the same furniture as another kind of AK?

The front sight/gas block looks like it is just an attachment to the end of the barrel and is threaded for accessories. Is this correct? Does it pin on, screw on, or does it require welding?

In addition to the kit, all I need is a receiver, a trigger guard/mag catch/selector stop setup, a rear block and the screws, right (plus tools, of course)? Do they include all the necessary pins in the kit?