Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/6/2004 10:17:40 PM EDT
Okay, just put in a new jewell trigger, and have some simple questions.  I'm new to the AR, this is my first build.  

Wondering if it is normal to NOT be able to cock the hammer when safety is on?  

I don't think that you can, but is there any way to decrease 1st stage creep in trigger pull.  I would just like to shorten it a bit???
thanks a lot....jon
Link Posted: 10/6/2004 11:10:43 PM EDT
[#1]

but is there any way to decrease 1st stage creep in trigger pull.

To my understanding the jewell triggers can only be adjusted for 1st/2nd stage pull WEIGHT.  There is no such thing as "creep" in the 1st stage of a 2 stage trigger.  There may be "creep" in the 2nd stage (the stage that breaks the shot) but if you have a jewell... I doubt it has any creep at all in the 2nd stage.  If it does, its not jewell.  If you're talking about the take-up length of the 1st stage... you cannot adjust this.  Just make the pull weight as light as possible on the 1st and to your liking on the 2nd, however it's good to get a second opinion on this as certain shooters may favor other settings.  The trigger you have (if it is a jewell) is probably one of the best target triggers you can buy while maintaining the use of the rifles saftey.  AND, I don't think it is right about the hammer and the saftey.  The saftey cannot be engaged WITHOUT the hammer cocked.  Try and check your installation of the trigger, make sure you have the correct parts in the correct places.  Good luck, keep us posted.  
Link Posted: 10/7/2004 7:13:45 AM EDT
[#2]
i double checked the parts install, and they are all in the right spots.  I've built a lot of guns before, but just not any AR's.  
yes i was talking about adjusting take up on the first stage, but it's not bad.