BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/20/2003 5:53:39 PM EDT
Hi all,
I have a problem:
I have a post-ban barrel and I need a pre-ban configured frnt sight base (with bayo lug).
I know that there is a difference in pins position (right?).
My question is:
Can I find some kind of pre-ban configured front sight base with post-ban pin holes somewhere? If Yes Where?
If No, how can I do?Any suggest?

Thank You very much.
Mauri
Link Posted: 12/20/2003 6:55:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Not that I am an expert but I am pretty sure that you can just get a preban FSB and attach it.  I don't think the pin locations are any different.

Jbritt
Link Posted: 12/21/2003 2:44:20 AM EDT
[#2]
Thank You very much!
I live in Italy so I have some problems to find this kind of informations.
I ordered a preban FSB from US, but the pins holes were in a different location...maybe I was unlucky.

I'll try again asking to the seller a FSB with my barrel holes position.

Thanks again.

Bye
Mauri
Link Posted: 12/21/2003 3:22:09 PM EDT
[#3]
Here's what I've done with great success.  You drill and tap the original pin holes.  The drill size is #29 and the tap is #8-32.  You get 1/8" or 3/16" (length) setscrews (the 3/16" may have to be shortened a little) and install the base with the setscrews and Loctite 222.  I saw this at www.fultonarmory.com and read about this in some books about accurizing AR-15s.  With properly sized setscrews, the installation is completely unnoticable unless you know what to look for.

Fulton Armory sells one for $59.95, but you can usually get a sight tower for around $20 and setscrews for about $0.10 each, and a little bottle of Loctite 222 may be $10 or so.

Fulton Armory puts it this way:

-"Allows front sight windage adjustment so you can zero with the rear sight aperture centered!"