Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Magazines
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/27/2005 6:26:06 PM EDT
I'm brand new to the AR-15.  Just built up my lower assembly today - went very well, thanks to the Build Yourself section in your forum and the advice of you guys.

Looking at magazines - Aside from the obvious pro for higher capacity magazines, are there some advantages to lower capacity magazines for handling, etc.?  Or things that your experience has shown?

Also, I'm assuming that you can load either .223 or 5.56mm in the same magazine.  I don't know why there would be an issue with it; but I thought I'd ask just in case.
Link Posted: 8/27/2005 6:47:10 PM EDT
[#1]
Yes 223 and 5.56 use the same magazine. Stick with USGI mags in 20rd or 30rd capacity for reliability. The advantages of the 20rd are it allows you to get closer to the ground if you are prone shooting, also if you are shooting highpower competition a lot of competitors rest the mag on their left hand during the standing offhand string and the 20rd is the right height for this.
Link Posted: 8/27/2005 6:56:52 PM EDT
[#2]
When I shoot at the range, it is from a bench and I have to sit down.  I prefer the 20 rounders for this position.
Link Posted: 8/27/2005 7:30:43 PM EDT
[#3]
If your AR is NOT a "safe queen", and you actually carry the AR around daily, then a 20-rounder is much more friendly than a 30.  The 30 is too big -- hanging so low.  The 30 makes the AR ackward to carry.

Also, the 20 makes the overall wieght of the AR lighter compared to a 30.
Link Posted: 8/27/2005 7:46:16 PM EDT
[#4]
I prefer the 30's because they, duh, hold 10 more rounds.  The 20 is better for shooting prone.

There are no differences in reliablility between the 20 and 30 round mags.