Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/2/2014 5:51:49 PM EDT
Here's the punchline: I have a complete Bushmaster lower that I bought in 2002 or so, and it's been sitting in the safe ever since.  I thought I would change out the buttstock from the collapsible "looking" stock...it's a non-collapsible from the dark days.  

I have a lower receiver block, and a spanner wrench...and that castle nut is not effing moving.  WTF???  It's as if they used nuclear strength Loctite.  I actually broke the tooth on my first spanner wrench.  Is there anything special that I might be overlooking?  

Yes, I'm trying to loosen counter clockwise.  

I cannot see that it's staked.

Hell, I'm wondering if I need to heat the nut up a bit with a Bernz-O-Matic.

No way should it be this hard.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 5:57:32 PM EDT
[#1]
There is a chance threadlocker was used, apply some heat and see if that yields results.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 5:58:18 PM EDT
[#2]
They probably used Red Loc-tite on it instead of staking it, (dumb)... I would take out the buffer and the spring, then heat the receiver extension up near the castle nut slowly for a bit and see if that allows it to budge for starters.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 6:03:39 PM EDT
[#3]
You can use a cheater bar for more leaverage.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 6:06:51 PM EDT
[#4]
I also think you should use a bit of heat after removing the spring and buffer.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 6:15:04 PM EDT
[#5]
I have a Bushmaster from 2010 that came with the same kind of stock. That castle nut was so tight on there I thought I was going the break the lower in a mag block. They dont use loctite but It took me forever to get the thing loose
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 7:07:20 PM EDT
[#6]
HammerHead Rifle Tool with a breaker bar removes all castle nuts with ease.
http://hammerheadrifletool.com/HammerHead_Rifle_Tool/HammerHead_Rifle_Tool_Home.html
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 7:09:47 PM EDT
[#7]