Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 5/17/2005 6:14:55 PM EDT
Hello I'm pretty new to the AR15 forum.  I own a preban Colt Delta Hbar for the past 15 years thats never been fired and that has been sitting in my safe for that long. After discovering this site over 1 1/2 months ago it has really sparked my interest back in the black rifle again.  I'm now so excited that I wanted to try to build my own, in fact so much so, that I think I over did it when I bought a bunch of lower receivers.  

I was just thinking about this in the event, God forbid, another silly ban.  I hope it's not as stupid of a question as it sounds but I really would like to know.  When is a stripped lower receiver officially recognized by the ATF as officially completed(rifle or pistol).   Is it when you install the LPK, LPK with stock, or completely assembled with an upper receiver?  

I  recently purchased several LPK and was planning to assemble 2 maybe 3 into complete rifles for now and the other 3 maybe just do the LPKs and store it in my gun safe.  If another ban occurred with the same conditions as the last one, would Lower recievers with LPK's be preban or would they be considered postban since they do not yet have Uppers?  Thanks for any light that you guys can shed.
Link Posted: 5/17/2005 6:24:47 PM EDT
[#1]
Good question. I'd like to know the answer as well. My guess would be LPK + stock.
Link Posted: 5/17/2005 6:26:41 PM EDT
[#2]
Well I'm going on the opinion that until it is capable of firing a round, it is not a completed weapon.  Maybe overkill, but I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Although if they pass another ban I will be sorry.
Link Posted: 5/17/2005 6:50:44 PM EDT
[#3]