Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/11/2005 8:43:08 PM EDT
Hello, I am new to AR's & looking for my first.  Where is the overall barrel length measured from the rear on an assembled rifle?  
TIA,
Eric
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 8:53:14 PM EDT
[#1]
To get the overall barrel length you see advertised, you have the bolt all the way forward, and you stick a cleaning rod down the barrel until it hits the breechface of the bolt. You do this with removable muzzle attachments off, and measure from the tip of the barrel.

If you are talking about the overall length of the rifle, you measure from the furthest spot on the  stock to the muzzle (without the flash-hider on) and that will give you the overall length of the rifle.

That's probably about as clear as mud, but someone will probably be along shortly with a better description

WIZZO
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 9:36:27 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks for the reply.  I am off to the gun shop tomorrow & hope to come home w/ my first AR.  I was just wanting to double check barrel length myself & not take someones word as law.  With the bolt foreward, how much length does a A2 style birdcage add to the cleaning rod?
Thanks again,
Eric
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 9:49:36 PM EDT
[#3]
Almost exactly an inch.

Here's some pics I posted on another thread similar to this.

The overall length is right at 31 inches in legal terms. As you should be able to see in the pic, with the A2 FH, the complete overall length is about 32" so it adds about an inch to length. That is why a 14.5" barrel has to have a FH permanently attached that is at least half an inch longer than the regular A2 to bring it up to 16". Otherwise, you'd have a 15.5" barrel if you permanently attach an A2 FH to a 14.5" barrel.

WIZZO
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 9:54:27 PM EDT
[#4]